Abduction Radiation’s 3 Year Anniversary + Night Moves ‘Pennied Days’ Release Day

Today, Abduction Radiation turns three years old, and I just wanted to take the time to say thank you to everyone that I’ve worked with. I started this blog on March 25, 2013 as a birthday gift to myself. It was originally named But I’m Not Hipster but changed to Abduction Radiation in November of 2013, and it’s been going strong since then.

I actually started this blog because I thought if I could become a somewhat famous blogger, I could meet Ezra Koenig of Vampire Weekend (which has yet to happen but I remain hopeful). But it was my love for music that kept this blog running for three years. I’ll be honest, there were so many times that I wanted to quit but the music kept me going. This anniversary is to all the musicians, bands, producers, music-makers because without them, this blog wouldn’t even exist.

Abduction Radiation has redirected my life in so many ways. I don’t know where I’ll end up but I know that I want to be close to music and all the wonderful people associated with it. Having my own blog has driven me to have my own radio show, which I am now hosting on UCLA Radio. I’ve grown so much just doing this blog, pushing myself to go out of my comfort zone. My own taste in music is more refined and I can honestly say, I am happier today than I have been in the past couple of years. This blog has been with me through some of the toughest times I had but I always come back to it. I’m still excited every day to find new bands to share with you all.

Lastly, I want to thank my friends and readers. Honestly, I’m pretty sure no one reads this blog but I know a couple of you are out there. I genuinely hope that you’ve found an act that you liked or even your favorite band through this blog. Nothing brings me greater joy than when someone tells me that I introduced them to their favorite band. Thank you so much for everything.

image

(2013)

image

(2016)

To celebrate this three-year anniversary, I wanted to especially highlight that today is also the release date of Night Moves’ sophomore LP Pennied Days. I started listening to Night Moves when I started my blog so I was pretty stoked that their second release was on the blog’s birthday. And I’ve waited three freaking years for this album to come out. 

image

(from their Facebook)

I have it on loop as I’m writing this post and I’m going to pick up a copy at a record store later today so it’s obvious that I love this band A LOT. I can honestly say there is not a single song on this album that I don’t like. Their sound has definitely evolved from their debut LP Colored Emotions but this evolution only magnifies their unique sound. In general, Pennied Days has a more synthy sound, and their songs don’t have the upbeat, bubbly pop sound that was consistent throughout the previous LP. This album is darker yet compositionally more sophisticated as well. They’re definitely playing with different sounds and it still sounds great.

The only thing I can say to you is to listen to it, whether you get the vinyl, CD, or just use Spotify. Night Moves has a sound that no other band does and that’s what makes them so special.

Connect with Night Moves:

Official SiteFacebook | Twitter | Tumblr

Author: Lola Hum

I am not real...or at least not who you think I am, merely a figment of my own imagination. If you stumbled upon this blog...I can only wonder how.

Leave a Reply

