https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/196369406/stream?client_id=3cQaPshpEeLqMsNFAUw1Q?plead=please-dont-download-this-or-our-lawyers-wont-let-us-host-audio

I have this playlist on Spotify that I put on whenever I feel like life is stagnant. The playlist isn’t really a pump up playlist, but instead it sort of just matches my mood of a moment of dead time. To me, it’s a pretty sacred playlist because it can evoke such an intricate feeling and match a complex state of mind. A song that would fit perfectly into this playlist is “Back Home” by Lyfe Indoors. When I first listened to this song, it immediately reminded me of Fog Lake and other artists on Orchid Tapes. The song has a super slow rhythm, almost like it’s oozing out. The song itself has the soft, lo-fi bedroom and experimental pop sound that is comforting yet fragile at the same time.

Even though this song was shared on Soundcloud over a year ago, “Back Home” will be featured on Lyfe Indoors’ upcoming EP that will be released on April 11. I asked Lyfe Indoors to send over a bio, and they sent back some really interesting thoughts that I think is vital in connecting with their music:

With regard to identity, I’m currently assessing a world of mystery as an artist.  I have found there seems to exist a barrier placed between listeners and music when personal image gets involved.  
I do not mean to philosophize things or amplify their meanings, but Lyfe Indoors is a project I created to combat opinions and ideations of identity.
Lyfe Indoors sort of symbolizes a faceless world where faces constantly surround us.  I’m not sure if this is way too out there, but I feel that Lyfe Indoors is really where it wants to be right now: Indoors for anyone to see.  There is no desire for identity as a personal artist just yet, but rather, appreciation for one the most beautiful things out there: music.

Connect with Lyfe Indoors:

Facebook

Author: Lola Hum

I am not real...or at least not who you think I am, merely a figment of my own imagination. If you stumbled upon this blog...I can only wonder how.

Leave a Reply

