Sam Brookes will be self-releasing his album Kairos on March 17th. Above is the music video to Brookes’ single “James”. I feel a very Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom inspired video with two boys exploring around in nature. Brookes’ vocals are soothing and the acoustics are so peaceful, simply perfect combination for a great folk song.

I got a preview of Kairos and “James” is definitely one of the more upbeat, light-hearted songs on the album. The rhythm in “Numb” is slowed down and Brookes’ vocals become haunting with a slight hint of menace. My two favourite songs on the album are “One Day” and “No Time”. “One Day” reminds me of good old Iron & Wine songs that I love so dearly. The acoustic guitar is soft and Brookes’ vocals are highlighted nicely. “No Time” seems like a positive song at first but as I listen to the lyrics, it makes me feel forlorn. The guitar is at a faster pace and Brookes’ vocals are more mellow, and it’s simply a fantastic song. Another standout song on the album is “On The Mend” and it’s just a great song. Slow, peaceful, and just wonderful.

You can pre-order the album here

Connect with Sam Brookes:

Twitter | Facebook | Official Site

Author: Lola Hum

I am not real...or at least not who you think I am, merely a figment of my own imagination. If you stumbled upon this blog...I can only wonder how.

Leave a Reply

